Skip to content

DoubleTree Houston International Airport

July 24, 2012


DoubleTree Houston Airport

15747 JFK Boulevard, Houston, Texas, 77032
Phone: 1-281-848-4000

Date Stayed at: 7-20-2012 to 7-21-2012

Entering the property

The property is close to Houston International Airport, you are within 2 miles from it, if you need to return your car rental early, have an early flight to catch this is the place to be. The property is large enough and looks inviting. One bad part from the outside, when you park your car there is no ramp to get your luggage up the side walk except all the way in the front! Problem is when I did that they had the DoubleTree Van and another van blocking the entrance! I suppose it was meant for you to stop your car there block the road, check-in then go park.

The front desk at this hotel while friendly they are just seem indifference to be there, they did however call my room to check and see if all is ok and I did receive my yummy warm cookie 🙂 What I mean is that the Front desk didn’t even recognize that I have been here before and welcome you back (like most Hotels do) and didn’t even recognize my loyalty program like every Hilton property I have been at! Maybe that is why you get a cookie so you can forget about it 🙂

By the time I checked in the other van was gone.


Nice seating area, which is a great change from your room and other hotels, very open and you can enjoy reading down here.

YES I know I need to stop using my phone camera to get you better pictures, I promise I will do that.


Room:

I got an upgraded room, which meant having a couch and seat with larger space, it was nice. Bedding was comfortable and clean. Looking at the pictures, reason they are dark is that not enough or good lighting in this room, plus the sun coming from window on left. The AC worked like a champ and room was quite.

Yes the bed feels soft and comfortable as it looks on here.


So we have an empty space in the corner what they put in it? That’s a tiny microwave, what I do not get why couldn’t they add a small fridge and set the microwave on top of it?

Take the design from Hampton Inn if you want, but to me that looked tacky


Yup that is what you get a dark work desk! Good thing I didn’t use it much that day. As you can see not enough power outlets to plug to.


Yes this was the view out of my window. Better than what I have been used to, looking at parking lots 🙂


Bathroom:

Clean but felt a bit outdated and from what you can see the toiletry selection is something to be said about when you compare it to other hotels in its class. Come on DoubleTree you can do better than that.


Restaurants:

They have two on-site and Starbucks Café.

One restaurant is used for Breakfast and lunch. I used the Breakfast and selection was great and it’s complimentary. The breakfast buffet had large selections that ranged from normal scrambled eggs, waffles etc to assorted cheeses and fruits. Service was good and was glad to see they put in the coffee pot on my table. Sorry I wish I took a picture of this

The second restaurant is for dinner, it’s more like bar food. They have full service bar, large area to set and food is what you consider your normal bar/American style food. If you are in mood to play pool, they have two pool tables there.

Exercise & Pool Area:

I used this during my stay and it had everything you need to keep moving after a long day. The equipment was up to date, clean and ample space for people to be there. Picture is worth a thousand words. I didn’t use the pool, but as you can see it large enough with lots of space outside for people to lounge.

3 Elliptical and 4 Treadmills with TVs


2 Bikes on side


The door is to left so this is be first thing you see. Plenty of towels and there is a water cooler.


Staff in General:

Front desk staff been ok. The restaurant staff been genially good and made you feels truly welcomed.

Overall:

I enjoy staying here, rooms are clean, quiet and no need to go hunt for restaurant when you are in this area and just need something quick. Also it provides you for a place you can lounge outside your room.

Weekend rates are cheaper than weekday rates, and general tip if you check in during the week, ask for special rate of the various companies they have around them, such as Siemens, Wood Group etc.

Website:

www.doubletreehoustonairport.com

Email: HOUAP_DS@Hilton.com


From → Hotels

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

